Words Worn Well

By DuncanRhys C. Liancourt

––Even though John Ridley has admonished those of us on Twitter to “keep your tweets to yourself,” I still want him to share his tweets. I feel it my duty, since I have exceeded 140 characters (I think I deserve extra credit for the use of admonished) and you may already be drifting away and onto crafting a snarky tweet about John Ridley, to share with you John Ridley’s reasoning, found at the conclusion of his piece: “I just know for me, personally, discretion never went out of style.” A man who knows the classics, the strong semi-silent type––be still my heart.

Ridley is right; people share too much, blabber and blather too much, on Twitter and off. However, despite being still in the midst of my own experiment with Twitter, I admonish Mr. Ridley to not keep his tweets to himself. The Twitterverse has its Echos and Narcissi, its Griffins willing to do and say anything for fame and fortune not excluding using invisibility to seek visibility, and it needs its Marcus Tullius Ciceros for balance and example. I’m willing to bet Mr. Ridley that Cicero would tweet because he knew that silence cannot be the response to abuse of language. Cicero’s likely first tweet? “Great is our admiration of the orator who speaks with fluency and discretion.”

 

** “Keep Your Tweets To Yourself” is the title of a Mr. Ridley piece for the no-longer-active NPR blog Visible Man which name has me re-reading The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells. In Wells’ 1897 novel both extremes of ultimate visibility and invisibility lead to tragedy.

About Visible Man: John Ridley is no longer blogging for NPR. You can find his Morning Edition commentarieshere. More of Ridley’s work is available at That Minority Thing.

You can find a list of current NPR blogs at npr.org/blogs.

Comments are closed.

