Zucchini as Noodles for Summer

Julienne some zucchini, garlic, and fresh ginger (for 2 zukes i used 3 cloves and a large finger of ginger) then marinate in a coating of olive oil and some black pepper (and perhaps a sprinkle of cumin and coriander) for an hour or two. Sear (I use a combo of Olive oil and Ghee––clarified butter) some rinsed, well-dried, and well kosher salted and peppered scallops until one side is perfectly crispy and dark, then turn and just lightly brown the other side, then remove to a shallow bowl and cover loosely––do not overcook, they will finish cooking just from the heat in them. Toss the zucchini into the same pan and sauté a couple of minutes, until some of the zucchini get some color, while scraping the flavorful brown bits from the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. turn down the heat and splash in some vermouth. After a minute taste for salt, add some more freshly cracked black pepper, then turn off the heat and squeeze in the juice of a half or whole lime. Plate it, pour a white or rosé wine, or have it with Cynar on the rocks with a splash of soda. 

Comments
8 Responses to “Zucchini as Noodles for Summer”
  1. Melissa, thanks for commenting, and for the enthusiasm. Let me know how it turns out for you. Seeing that you are an adventurer who took a course with Jonathan Gold I expect you will give it an interesting twist. Cheers.

  2. Melissa says:

    Oh my gosh, this looks amazing. I love scallops, I love zucchini, I don’t know why I hadn’t thought of putting them together!

  3. Daphne says:

    i love it when you speak my language on your site. well, minus the heavy hand on the pepper above (ouch !) and the splash of bubbles…

    mmmm, want.

  4. Tamara K says:

    DuncanRhys, I’m here to testify, My Brother….got the message early in the morning, shopped in the afternoon, and cooked it for dinner. YUM and thanks…! TK

  5. Clare Keller says:

    Oh does that sound good. I shall try it soon. Thanks for a recipe that fits my increasingly crazy diet.

  6. Susanne says:

    Oh my! Now I know what I’m having for dinner.

  7. Jim Scherer says:

    Hi Duncanrhys – good to see you are expanding and diversifying the content! Please let me know if you need a food photographer 🙂 All best – Jim

  8. Laura says:

    Yet one more reason why I love you so!

